2019 Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery Launch Event

Tuesday 4th February, 2020


The fourteenth annual launch of the Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery was hosted at the Old Bailey on 21 February 2019 by Phillip Hagon QPM, the Master of the Worshipful Company of Security Professionals, in the presence of Alderman and Sheriff Vincent Keaveny and Sheriff Liz Green and her consort Peter Green.

Other distinguished attendees included HH Judge Nicholas Hillard QC, Recorder of London; MPS Deputy Commissioner Sir Stephen House QPM; City of London Police Commissioner Ian Dyson QPM; CIO of the London Ambulance Service, Ross Fullerton; Commandant General, RAF Regiment, Air Commodore Frank Clifford; Air Commodore Steven Horne, Provost Marshal RAF Police; Darryl Keen, Director of Community Protection & Chief Fire Officer of Hertfordshire CC; Chief Constable Sara Thornton CBE QPM, Head of the National Police Chiefs Council; Brigadier David Neal Provost Marshal (Army); and Dave Humphries interim CEO of the Security Industry Authority.

The Master opened proceedings and described how the Award had originated. In the wake of the shocking terrorist outrages of 7 July 2005 when 52 people were murdered and many more injured, Past Masters and Founders Steve Neville and Peter French felt that many acts of bravery had gone unrecognised, and with the approval of the then Lord Mayor (Elect), Sir David Brewer, the Award was launched. Every year since then, nominations have been sought from the military, emergency services, the security industry and law enforcement agencies, and the Master described this well practised procedure. He went on to introduce the recipient of the 2018 Award, Mr David Burgess, and read out a synopsis of his citation; David received well deserved applause for his considerable bravery in saving a member of the public from a brutal stabbing attack. As a rather nice conclusion, and as a result of his experience, David has applied to be a police constable in the Metropolitan Police and will start his training shortly.

Each year the name of the recipient is inscribed on a Board of Honour, and a copy of the citation is recorded in a Book of Honour, both of which are on permanent display within the Central Criminal Court, The Old Bailey. Both Sheriffs were very proud to show the guests the Honours Board and book and to tell them what it meant to them to be involved in the review of nominations, all of which demonstrated the amazing selflessness of those nominated, and the honour of putting their names to the Award.

Sheriffs Award News